Waiting on Wednesday: Chaotic Good by Whitney Gardner


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases.


Chaotic Good
by Whitney Gardner
Coming March 13, 2018
Knopf

Image result for add to goodreads button


Summary:
Cosplay, comic shops, and college applications collide in this illustrated novel, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Noelle Steveson!

Cameron's cosplay--dressing like a fictional character--is finally starting to earn her attention--attention she hopes to use to get into the CalTech costume department for college. But when she wins a major competition, she inadvertently sets off a firestorm of angry comments from male fans.

When Cameron's family moves the summer before her senior year, she hopes to complete her costume portfolio in peace and quiet away from the abuse. Unfortunately, the only comic shop in town—her main destination for character reference—is staffed by a dudebro owner who challenges every woman who comes into the shop.

At her twin brother's suggestion, Cameron borrows a set of his clothes and uses her costuming expertise to waltz into the shop as Boy Cameron, where she's shocked at how easily she's accepted into the nerd inner sanctum. Soon, Cameron finds herself drafted into a D&D campaign alongside the jerky shop-owner Brody, friendly (almost flirtatiously so) clerk Wyatt, handsome Lincoln, and her bro Cooper, dragged along for good measure.

But as her "secret identity" gets more and more entrenched, Cameron's portfolio falls by the wayside--and her feelings for Lincoln threaten to make a complicated situation even more precarious.

Why I Want It:
I'm loving the increase in "geek" books: books that are unashamed love letters to fandom and include things like cosplay✔, cons, and gaming✔. Plus, I'm all about books that confront dudebros who think that women have to earn cred for their interests, especially when it comes to geeky hobbies or sports. And I haven't played D&D in YEARS, but it was super fun, and I'd love to read a book with a fun campaign in it.

Why I think you should want it:
ALL HAIL FEMINIST GEEKS! Plus, Whitney's writing comes highly recommended.


7 comments:

  1. Cute pick! That's a totally new to me read! Like that cover though! So eyecatching and reminiscent of the days of playing with paper dolls! I don't think kids today would find the same appeal of it!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Replies
    1. Right?? I love that books are embracing nerd culture!

      Delete
  3. Secret identities, cosplay and cons - I was sold immediately. I can't wait for this one either!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If I heard about anything remotely geeky in a book, it immediately goes on the TBR.

      Delete
  4. I love the paper-dolls cover! Illustrations really add to novels, even grown-up ones! I don't know that I could ever seriously "cosplay"--I guess I'm too conservative! (But not politically conservative.)

    ReplyDelete