Release Day Blitz: My So-Called Death by Stacey Jay



Stacey Jay's My So-Called Death is being re-released today and it's the first time it's available in a digital format! If you love light, fun, YA with just the right balance of romance and mystery, you have got to get your hands on it! Stacey Jay is also releasing a freebie prequel today, Confessions of a Teenage Zombie Queen.

Author: Stacey Jay
Re-release Date: October 7, 2014
Original Pub Date: March 8, 2010
Publisher: Flux
Genre: young adult paranormal comedy (zombies)
Status: book 2 of the Dead High series

Summary:
All in all it was a good day to die. If there really is such a thing.

You hear characters in movies say that all the time, but does anyone really believe the words “good” and “die” belong in the same sentence?

Still, it could have been worse. It could have been dark and spooky night instead of a beautiful Georgia morning in late October, with a light wind whipping across the Peachtree High School football field, making zombies seem like the last thing anyone needed to worry about…

Fifteen-year-old freshman, Karen Vera, is well on her way to ruling her school when a freak cheer leading accident turns her into, well, a freak. Much to her Horror and Dismay, Karen learns she is a genetic mutation, one of the Death Challenged--a politically correct term for a zombie!

Now she has to go to a top secret zombie school, eat brains for lunch, and take courses with names like "Secrets of Successful Morticians and their Uses for the Undead: Foundation and Beyond". And to make matters worse, her roommate is the most reviled girl at DEAD High, a complete head case, and maybe...a murderer.

Can Karen find out who's offing the nearly un-off-able Undead before she becomes the next victim? Can she convince the super-cute captain of the swim team that a girl can have a pathological love for pink and still carry on an intelligent conversation? Will she ever pass remedial Algebra for the Death Challenged?



Available from:
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg   photo KoboIcon_zps515cdc1a.jpg 

Coming soon from B&N!

Excerpt:
“Respecting your new room mate is essential. Now that you are one of the Undead, you could conceivably live for hundreds of years. The relationships you begin now will be the friendships that carry you through the millennium. Remember that, and conduct yourselves accordingly.”

--DEAD High Dorm Handbook for Incoming Students

“Wanted: White noise machine, will pay any price. Would be awesome if it had one of those aromatherapy things too. My roommate snores and smells! Pleaz help! Am exhausted and nasally tormented!”

--Note on Girls’ Dorm bulletin board

“Clarice sucks butt.”

--Bathroom stall, girls’ second floor bathroom

“What are you doing? Is that a cheerleader on my wall?” The shriek from the doorway made me scream and then burst out laughing.

I always laugh when I’m scared. I probably would have laughed as I was falling off the cheer pyramid if there had been time. Admittedly weird, but my friends back in my human life thought it was funny that I giggled all the way through horror movies.

“What are you laughing at? That has to come down.” The girl in the door glared at the United Cheerleader Association calendar I’d hung on my side of the room and threw her sweater on the floor. Her greasy, shoulder length black hair twitched angrily around her shoulders and her heavily lined gray eyes narrowed as if she’d just spotted a maggot on her arm.

Maggots are a zombie’s only natural predator—aside from angry mobs of humans or supernatural slayer types. Principal Samedi had already warned me to watch out for flies that love to lay their eggs in Undead flesh because, once they get started, maggot infestations can be almost impossible to get under control.

Ugh. Maggot infestation. If there was a grosser combination of words in the English language I couldn’t think of it.

The thought made me laugh again. I was in a laugh or cry situation. I had to giggle or I was going to lose what was left of my sense of humor.

“Ohmygod, what is wrong with you?” the girl asked, wrinkling her upper lip.

Guess she didn’t share my human friends’ appreciation for ill-timed chortling.


View the full excerpt here!

Author: Stacey Jay
Release Date: September 30, 2014
Publisher: Flux
Genre: young adult paranormal comedy (zombies)
Status: book 1 of the Dead High series

Summary:
All in all, it was a good day to die. If there really is such a thing.
You hear characters in movies say things like that sometimes, but does anyone really believe the words “good” and “die” belong in the same sentence?

Still, it could have been worse. It could have been a dark and spooky night instead of a beautiful Georgia evening in late October, with a light wind whipping across the Peachtree High football field, making zombies seem like the last thing anyone needed to worry about…

One second, freshman Karen Vera's on top of the most fabulous cheer pyramid ever. The next, she's lying on the pavement with seriously unflattering cranial damage. Freakishly alive without a pulse, Karen learns that she's a genetically undead zombie.

Enjoy this prequel to the “welcome horror spoof” (Booklist) MY SO-CALLED DEATH, a paranormal romantic mystery perfect for fans of Ally Carter and C.L. Stone.




Available from:
 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg  photo KoboIcon_zps515cdc1a.jpg 
*Please note that Confessions is not yet free on Amazon, but it will be soon so be patient!

About the Author:

Stacey Jay is a recovering workaholic (or at least working hard at recovering) with two small children, and a passion for playing pretend for a living. She’s been a full time mom-writer since 2005 and can't think of anything she'd rather be doing. Her former careers include theatre performer, professional dancer, poorly paid C-movie actress, bartender, waiter, math tutor, and yoga instructor.

In her very limited spare time, Stacey enjoys cooking elaborate dinners and eatingthem very slowly, dressing up in costumes with her sons, and drinking wine with her husband. She loves to hear from readers and personally answers every single email she receives.

Author Links:
  

http://www.inkslingerpr.com/

No comments:

Post a Comment